# Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 28, 2010

The Honorable Julius Genachowski Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Genachowski:

We write to encourage you not to proceed down your announced path to reclassify broadband service as a phone service under Title II of the Communications Act. Such a significant interpretive change to the Communications Act should be made by Congress.

The Act defines a Title II "telecommunications service" as "the offering of telecommunications for a fee directly to the public, or to such classes of users as to be effectively available directly to the public," and defines "telecommunications" as "the transmission, between or among points specified by the user, of information of the user's choosing, without change in the form or content of the information as sent and received." By contrast, the Act defines an "information service" as "the offering of a capability for generating, acquiring, storing, transforming, processing, retrieving, utilizing, or making available information via telecommunications."

Based on these definitions, the FCC concluded on a number of occasions, under both Democrat- and Republican-led Commissions, that broadband is not a telecommunications service but an information service outside the reach of the Title II common carrier rules. The U.S. Supreme Court affirmed that view in its 2005 *Brand X* decision. Moreover, the policy consequences of reclassifying broadband and regulating it under Title II could be severe: reduced broadband investment, less economic stimulation, and fewer jobs.

In the Comcast-BitTorrent case, the D.C. Circuit explained that "statements of congressional policy can help delineate the contours of statutory authority." Congress issued just such a policy statement in 1996 when it added section 230 to the Communications Act. That section makes it the policy of the United States "to preserve the vibrant and competitive free market that presently exists for the Internet and other interactive computer services, unfettered by Federal or State regulation." Whether the country should stray from that legislated posture—

which has produced 200 million broadband subscribers in the last ten years—is a matter best left to Congress.

Please include a copy of this letter in GN Docket No. 09-191 and WC Docket No. 07-52.

oe Barton Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Commerce

Sincerely, Cliff Stearns

Ranking Member Subcommittee on Communications, Technology, and the Internet

-19)

len

l.

Sue Myrick

dhidrak adm

mI)

Cangrey.

mursey

Jupo Shitth

and

alta

ald

taward lable

ta

b

Shul

Boni ach 0 N

Sath I Tili Man Go Thompson

Connie March Dean Hellen



2. Colani Jettenlij

BR Rob(

Lynn Jenkins

Bill Rosey Scott Gomett

Ron Paul Bill Shuster

Ven Brohmen

K Marcht

Candro J. Milles Jeles

Letter to the Honorable Julius Genachowski Page 5

Wally Herger Juffler Grege per an D NERN Verand Ikle K any Usun litte Ging Brown white Dan Bount M /1/h

Letter to the Honorable Julius Genachowski Page 6

Inde hush Vete Okan

i 1

Þ

Forme

Bill Casuly

Prenio S.

103 Wilson

Cl. ls w Dit

atrol ndfars

Sta Chatte

Biguert

notion furmice

Break Sother

John Linder

Mill R. 2

tam

entry ?

1.

60

San ro

9

Virginia h mo

Robert B. Aderholt

1

6

offen M

Cullburger m

Letter to the Honorable Julius Genachowski Page 8

Kuyine Long 1 Mia

10 beer

Vinn JEhler

- E Rayce

Ken Calua

Yere Sission

fordel 11 m

Ъ

Jerry Moran

Tom Fathan

Pete 1 ocht



Bonner Paniel E. Jungen 2. Fring -



Handled Logo -

0

mstad

(-da

Mary talle

ind f.

Fely



~ 12

lis

Finel Facture

152

Poe

**V**-

7

Velano fer-Kattar echat





En her

Witt

Mike Castle

Thellay Moore Corpite

orbe

# Signatories May 28, 2010 Letter: The Honorable Julius Genachowski Federal Communications Commission

# PAGE 2

Joe Barton Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Commerce

Mike Pence David Dreier John Shimkus Ralph M. Hall Lee Terry Roy Blunt

Sue Myrick Phil Gingrey Tim Murphy Parker Griffith Steve Scalise Robert Latta Greg Walden Howard Coble Anh "Joseph" Cao

Patrick Tiberi Connie Mack Leonard Lance W. Todd Akin Rob Bishop Bill Posey Ron Paul Vern Buchanan Candace Miller Cliff Stearns Ranking Member Subcommittee on Communications, Technology, and the Internet

Kevin McCarthy Ed Whitfield Fred Upton George Radanovich Steve Buyer Michael C. Burgess

## PAGE 3

Marsha Blackburn Mary Bono Mack Mike Rogers (MI) John Shadegg Joseph R. Pitts John Sullivan Lamar Smith Bob Goodlatte John Kline

#### PAGE 4

Glenn G. Thompson Dean Heller Erik Paulsen Jeb Hensarling Lynn Jenkins Scott Garrett Bill Shuster Kenny Marchant Frank Wolf

PAGE 5

Jeff Flake Kevin Brady Jim Gerlach Kay Granger Henry E. Brown, Jr. Peter King Ginny Brown-Waite Tom Price J. Gresham Barrett

Ander Crenshaw Jim Jordan Aaron Schock Bill Cassidy Joe Wilson Charles W. Dent Jason Chaffetz Cynthia M. Lummis Brett Guthrie

Michael Turner Charles W. Boustany Steve King Sam Johnson Virginia Foxx Sam Graves Robert Aderholt John Campbell John Culberson

K. Michael Conaway Thaddeus McCotter Vernon J. Ehlers Howard "Buck" McKeon Jerry Moran Tom Latham Pete Hoekstra Mac Thornberry Spencer Bachus Wally Herger Gregg Harper Rodney Alexander Mike Rogers (AL) Dave Camp John R. Carter Jean Schmidt Doug Lamborn Ted Poe

## PAGE 6

Pete Olson Louie Gohmert Peter J. Roskam Adrian Smith Patrick T. McHenry Devin Nunes Judy Biggert Tom McClintock John Linder

#### PAGE 7

Geoff Davis Blaine Luetkemeyer Gus M. Bilirakis Lynn Westmoreland Cathy McMorris Rodgers Randy Neugebauer Duncan Hunter Mike Coffman John Boozman

#### PAGE 8

Thomas J. Rooney Steve Austin Ed Royce Ken Calvert Pete Sessions Donald Manzullo Jo Bonner Daniel E. Lungren Lincoln Diaz-Balart Brian Bilbray Denny Rehberg F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. Todd Russell Platts Roscoe G. Bartlett Frank A. LoBiondo Dana Rohrabacher John L. Mica Elton Gallegly

Harold H. Rogers Thomas E. Petri Jerry Lewis Jeff Fortenberry Doc Hastings John Fleming Mario Diaz-Balart Bob Inglis David G. Reichert

Zach Wamp Henry E. Brown, Jr. Walter B. Jones Jack Kingston Mike Castle Shelley Moore Capito Steven C. LaTourette

## PAGE 9

Gary Miller Rodney P. Frelinghuysen Todd Tiahrt Tom Cole Trent Franks Christopher Smith Michael K. Simpson Dan Burton Frank D. Lucas

#### PAGE 10

Jeff Miller John L. Duncan, Jr. Christopher Lee Mary Fallin David P. Roe Adam H. Putnam Michael T. McCaul Michele Bachmann Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

PAGE 11

Rob Wittman Bill Young Jo Ann Emerson Don Young Darrell Issa J. Randy Forbes